Here’s your standard lawyer answer: it depends.
It depends on which North Carolina county you’re in, which level of court you are in, and what your conviction is. The Eighth Amendment of the Constitution forbids cruel and unusual punishment, which includes excessive fines. The court system gets around this by charging a higher court cost and a very low fine. For example, a traffic ticket reduced to a 9-over may only carry a $10 fine, but could have $188 in court costs for a total of $198**. A DWI conviction costs and fines are significantly higher, and may include a fee if a blood expert testified to the blood alcohol content results. Your attorney should be able to roughly estimate what your costs and fines will be. **Subject to change.
Does The Clerk Of Court Accept Checks?
No. It accepts cash, money orders, and credit/debit cards. There is an additional fee if you use a credit or debit card.
How Long Do I Have To Pay?
You have 40 days unless the judge orders otherwise. You can ask for more time, but it may require an installment plan which tacks on extra fees. You can pay online or at the courthouse.
What Happens If I Forget To Pay My Court Fine In North Carolina?
If you were placed on probation, your probation will likely be revoked and you could go to jail. Therefore, it is very important to pay everything on time. You could also lose your NC driver’s license if you forget to pay costs and fines. Many people do not realize they forgot until they receive a letter in the mail indicating the DMV is about to suspend their license.
Pay the costs and fines immediately and then contact the DMV to make sure your license is not suspended. If the DMV has already suspended your license, you may need to pay a reinstatement fee.
Have you been charged with a crime in Wake County? Call William Pruden at 919-880-2124